Tuesday, March 19, 2013

types and benefits of hatha yoga in detail

Do you know Hatha Yoga ,Do you know it's types .Let's know the types of Hatha yoga .

Types of HATHA Yoga

1-  Ashtanga Yoga

What is Ashtanga Yoga ?

Ashtanga Yoga, also called Power Yoga, is the most athletic type of Hatha Yoga. Developed by K. Pattabhi Jois, Ashtanga Yoga emphasizes intense stretching and building muscular strength. A specific series of poses and breathing exercises are practiced in order to heat up your body and sweat out toxins. The room temperature in which Ashtanga Yoga is practiced must be kept at approximately 70 to 75oF to keep your muscles supple.

2- Integral Yoga

What is Integral Yoga?
Integral Yoga was originated by Swami Satchidananda. When practicing Integral Yoga,you participate in poses, breathing techniques,meditation and deep relaxation. Integral Yoga also
emphasizes the importance of eating a healthy diet and service to humanity. Practitioners of
Integral Yoga believe the purpose of a pose is more important than perfecting a pose.

3- Iyengar Yoga

What is Iyengar Yoga ?
Iyengar Yoga, established by B.K.S. Iyengar, makes extensive use of props, such as blocks, chairs and straps, to ensure the body is correctly aligned during a yoga pose. Iyengar Yoga also places emphasis on building strength and endurance,encouraging relaxation, increasing flexibility and relieving ailments.

4- Bikram Yoga

What is Bikram Yoga ?
Bikram Yoga is a popular type of yoga that was created by Bikram Choudhury. The Bikram Yoga practice consists of a sequence of 26 postures, which are each held for approximately 20 to 30 seconds. The room temperature in which Bikram Yoga is practiced should be approximately 105oF and 60% humidity. The heated room is beneficial for warming up your muscles to allow a deeper stretch and to detoxify your body.

5- Kundalini Yoga

What is Kundalini Yoga ?

Kundalini Yoga, sometimes referred to as the “mother yoga,“ was initiated by Yogi Bhajan. When practicing Kundalini Yoga, you practice poses, breathing, chanting and meditation to move energy through your body, specifically through your spine.

6- Viniyoga Yoga

What is Viniyoga Yoga?
Viniyoga was developed by Shri Krishnamacharya and carried on by his son T.K.V. Desikachar.Krishnamacharya taught several well-known yoga gurus, including B.K.S. Iyengar. In Viniyoga, you practice poses that are gentle and relaxed. Instead of trying to achieve perfect form when you practice poses, you only need to practice to meet your needs and capabilities.

7- Kripalu Yoga

What is Kripalu Yoga ?
Kripalu Yoga was inspired by Kripalvananda.Kripalu is derived from the Sanskrit word ”kripal,”
which means ”compassion.” This type of yoga emphasizes the importance of your mind and
body being treated equally.There are three stages to progress through when practicing Kripalu Yoga. In the first stage, you must focus on your alignment, breathing and movement, without concern for how long you can hold a pose. In the second stage, you can use meditation to help you hold the pose for a longer period of time. The third and final stage involves using meditation to allow your body to move instinctively from one position to another,depending on what feels right to you at the time.

8- Sivananda Yoga

What is Sivananda Yoga ?
Swami Sivananda, who was a medical doctor,yoga master and world spiritual teacher, created
Sivananda Yoga. This type of Hatha Yoga consists of a series of twelve poses: Headstand, Shoulderstand,Plow, Fish, Seated Forward Bend, Cobra, Locust,Bow, Spinal Twist, Crow, Standing Forward Bend and Triangle. Sivananda Yoga is based on five main principles: proper exercise, proper breathing,proper relaxation, proper diet and positive thinking and meditation.

The next article will be about mental and emotional benefits  of Hatha yoga.please share it with your friends .


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...